My 2021 Review: Wins, Losses and Prospects for the New Year

My 2021 Review: Wins, Losses and Prospects for the New Year

OVERVIEW

2021 was really a unique year. I thank God for life, health, peace and joy. I'm alive with my family, I didn't record any loss of a loved one. Trust me, that was my biggest win, even though I didn't do the fighting. God was just too good.

It'd be impossible to review my 2021 in detail in this article.

The TL;DR is "God's grace was and is still sufficient for me and I grew".

Wins

  • I'm alive in good health and sound mind.
  • Got my first tech job.
  • I finally earned from tech, made about half a million in less than 3 months (I had never counted 50K of my own prior to this)
  • Got a new laptop.
  • Attended my first developer conference, Unstack.
  • Gave a speech at Google DevFest Ajah (My first public speaking experience).
  • Met really important personalities in tech, my network grew.
  • Joined Sololearn group chat, trust me, this was one of the best things that happened to me this year.
  • Made baby investments in Real Estate and crypto.
  • Was able to lift some burdens off my parents' necks. I resumed a new session without having to bother them with my wahala.
  • Became Zonal Teens' President of my church, I've been trying to learn how to be a good leader, trust me, it's not been easy.

Losses

  • Had a lot of rejections from companies, a lot.
  • My grades dropped drastically, no longer in First Class. Got my first E (I wasn't able to write a paper because of MTN's terrible network).
  • Picked up some bad habits.
  • I was depressed for about 2 weeks, my mental health declined drastically, but I'm recovering gradually now.
  • I lost my ability to truly connect with people and build strong relationships.
  • SAPA really attacked me from all angles, but no weapon fashioned against me shall prosper. We counter SAPA in year '22.
  • Asked a really close friend out, she shenked me and now we no longer talk.

Prospects for the year 2022.

  • Get closer to God, my spiritual life went down a bit this year.
  • Work on my social skills, I really want to be more outspoken.
  • Network massively.
  • Make crazzzzyyyyy money. Earning in dollars won't be bad naaww. If SAPA no respect Naira, e gats respect dollars naw
  • Start Technical Writing (It's like there's money there to sha)
  • Be a better person. Make friends and build strong relationships.
  • Improve my grades enough to be on first-class again. Getting another 5.0 won't hurt.
  • Prioritize my health.
  • Invest more.
  • Get into a FAANG company.

By God's grace, hard and smart work, all these are attainable.

Special thanks to God for 2021. He was faithful, I would never be here today without Him. He made the year 2021 awesome. I'll forever be grateful. Thanks to my family for always being there for me, even when I was a jerk, they still supported me. Thanks to all my friends, I definitely do not take your presence in my life for granted. God bless you all.

'22, we do the most✌✌.